BoI-Final-Front (1)

 The Bones of It (2015)

Buy here

Brian McGilloway: ‘A brilliant crime debut, chilling, compulsive and beautifully written. Fans of The Butcher Boy and The Book of Evidence will find much to love in The Bones of It. A hugely impressive addition to the growing body of Irish crime fiction. I look forward to reading much more from Kelly Creighton.’

The Irish Times: ‘Blackly comic in tone, The Bones of It is a Bildungsroman that evolves into a slow-burning psychological exploration of the mind… an engrossing tale of the consequences of living a life steeped in a culture of violence.’

San Diego Book Review: ‘…true discovered masterpiece of fiction. If she keeps this up, Kelly Creighton can be that Next Great Writer. The Bones of It is not just a novel to read, it is a novel to experience.’

Books Ireland:Compelling, compulsive, compassionate.’

The Irish Examiner: ‘Scott’s is an authentic voice, and Creighton a writer to reckon with.’

Jan Carson: ‘Beautifully penned and piercingly insightful. As a debut novel, it is extremely accomplished.’

Sinead Crowley: ‘Incredibly well written.’

Sharon Owens: ‘A future classic Troubles novel.’

CultureHUB Magazine: ‘This finely written thriller keeps the reader gripped and intrigued…a meaty, fascinating work of fiction.’

Claire Savage: ‘With a compelling first-person narrative, plenty of twists and turns and a poignant insight into the lasting effects of the Troubles, The Bones of It is a page-turner from start to finish.’

anton_chekhov_award_800x800

‘The Bones of It’ is Hubert O’Hearn’s Novel of the Year, 2015. He had this to say about the book — ‘Kelly Creighton uses the Northern Irish culturescape as the background to a story that twists the meanings of narrative and truth like a Zen master of post-modern meta storytelling. Hers is a unique, bold and deliciously shrewd voice that deserves a wide audience.’

ABOUT ‘THE BONES OF IT’
Thrown out of university, green-tea-drinking, meditation-loving Scott McAuley has no place to go but home: County Down, Northern Ireland. The only problem is, his father is there now too. Duke wasn’t around when Scott was growing up. He was in prison for stabbing two Catholic kids in an alley. But thanks to the Good Friday Agreement, big Duke is out now, reformed, a counsellor.

Squeezed together into a small house, with too little work and too much time to think about what happened to Scott’s dead mother, the tension grows between these two men, who seem to have so little in common.

Penning diary entries from prison, Scott recalls what happened that year. He writes about Jasmine, his girlfriend at university. He writes about Klaudia, back home in County Down, who he and Duke both admired. He weaves a tale of lies, rage and paranoia.

Goodreads page

 

In the Press

The Gloss –  Writer’s Block with Kelly Creighton

Irish Times – Kelly Creighton on writing The Bones of It: conflict, masculinity, nature versus nurture.

Culture NI – Newtownards author on what helped shape her ‘brilliant crime debut’.

Writing.ieGuest blog on writing crime. ‘Your genre chooses you, instead of the other way around!’

Dublin Book Festival interview. Fresh noir writing.

Lagan Press Online – Kelly Creighton and The Bones of It.

Crime Scene NI blog, by Gerard Brennan – Five Questions.

Writing.ie – Guest blog on NaNoWriMo. ‘Write your novel in a month.’

Writerful Books. In conversation with author Kelly Creighton.