Bank Holiday Hurricane

(coming September, Doire Press)

Bank Holiday Cover

Belfast Launch: 
21st September at the Crescent Arts Centre

Bangor Launch:
24th September at Aspects Festival
Click here for info

Bernie McGill: Kelly Creighton’s collection floored me: these are truthful, gritty, hard-hitting stories set largely in small-town post-crash wastelands, of jobless, loveless, aimless individuals whose collective pain will leave a taste in your mouth as acrid as last night’s stale beer and roll-ups. Distinctive, powerful and filled, at times, with an electric high-wire tension, they contain a lyricism that comes at you sideways and will knock the wind right out of you. If you like your prose with a bloodied lip, here it is, in all its gunmetal, late-night, bleary-eyed finery.

Paul McVeigh: Kelly Creighton is a fearless writer with an impressive range. Wide in scope but sharp on impact these stories give voice to characters other writers shy away from.

ABOUT ‘BANK HOLIDAY HURRICANE’: 

A woman picks up what is left of her life after her release from prison; a young couple are about to set off for Australia when a leaving party changes everyone’s fate; lifelong friends keep deep secrets that could fracture each other’s lives; in Manchester, paths cross for two people who have not seen each other since the genocide in Rwanda. Bank Holiday Hurricane is a collection about dislocation, disenchantment and second chances, told through linked stories set in and around a Northern Irish town, and further afield.

 

 

The Bones of It 

 Bones-Cover

Buy here

Brian McGilloway: ‘A brilliant crime debut, chilling, compulsive and beautifully written. Fans of The Butcher Boy and The Book of Evidence will find much to love in The Bones of It. A hugely impressive addition to the growing body of Irish crime fiction. I look forward to reading much more from Kelly Creighton.’

The Irish Times: ‘Blackly comic in tone, The Bones of It is a Bildungsroman that evolves into a slow-burning psychological exploration of the mind… an engrossing tale of the consequences of living a life steeped in a culture of violence.’

San Diego Book Review: ‘…true discovered masterpiece of fiction. If she keeps this up, Kelly Creighton can be that Next Great Writer. The Bones of It is not just a novel to read, it is a novel to experience.’

Books Ireland:Compelling, compulsive, compassionate.’

The Irish Examiner: ‘Scott’s is an authentic voice, and Creighton a writer to reckon with.’

Jan Carson: ‘Beautifully penned and piercingly insightful. As a debut novel, it is extremely accomplished.’

Sinead Crowley: ‘Incredibly well written.’

Sharon Owens: ‘A future classic Troubles novel.’

CultureHUB Magazine: ‘This finely written thriller keeps the reader gripped and intrigued…a meaty, fascinating work of fiction.’

Claire Savage: ‘With a compelling first-person narrative, plenty of twists and turns and a poignant insight into the lasting effects of the Troubles, The Bones of It is a page-turner from start to finish.’

anton_chekhov_award_800x800

‘The Bones of It’ is Hubert O’Hearn’s Novel of the Year, 2015. He had this to say about the book — ‘Kelly Creighton uses the Northern Irish culturescape as the background to a story that twists the meanings of narrative and truth like a Zen master of post-modern meta storytelling. Hers is a unique, bold and deliciously shrewd voice that deserves a wide audience.’

ABOUT ‘THE BONES OF IT’
Thrown out of university, green-tea-drinking, meditation-loving Scott McAuley has no place to go but home: County Down, Northern Ireland. The only problem is, his father is there now too. Duke wasn’t around when Scott was growing up. He was in prison for stabbing two Catholic kids in an alley. But thanks to the Good Friday Agreement, big Duke is out now, reformed, a counsellor.

Squeezed together into a small house, with too little work and too much time to think about what happened to Scott’s dead mother, the tension grows between these two men, who seem to have so little in common.

Penning diary entries, Scott recalls what happened that year. He writes about Jasmine, his girlfriend at university. He writes about Klaudia, back home in County Down, who he and Duke both admired. He weaves a tale of lies, rage and paranoia.

Goodreads page

 

Three Primes

A collection of poems, published by Lapwing Publications, 2013.

31A+7BBs51L._UY250_